Doing my best to write history the right way.

I can’t tell you exactly when it began, but I consistently think about the present world from the perspective of a history book written 100 years from today.  What trends will seem ridiculous?  Clogs and Bump-Its come to mind.  What will we remember and cringe about knowing what we will know then?  Will we realize that putting too many silly bandz on your wrists causes arthritis as early as age 8?

Will our future generations roll their eyes at the school systems’ turtle-like ability to adapt to change and embrace technology?  Will they laugh at the fact that administrations tried so hard to keep the students off of social networking sites, only to find that in a structured context, they provided many positive learning experiences, because students became much more interested?

I think so, and as a 126 year old woman, I’ll be thinking, “I told you so.”  This is why I am ready and willing to jump into the new technology that is here and waiting.

If you would have asked me where I rated in the use of technology in my classroom a couple weeks ago, I would have given you a confident, “I’ve got that covered: A!”  I create the bulk of my lessons in ActivBoard format, and often include web video clips and student manipulation of sentences and skills using the pen on educational sites.  I thought I was doing a zippity doo dah job.  However, after examining some of the awesome ideas for “Classroom Uses of Weblogs” on page 39 of Richardson’s book, and looking at Anne Davis’s “EduBlog Insights” blog  http://anne.teachesme.com/my-weblog-projects/, I realize there is so much MORE! Hold the phone!  I am still in Web 1.0!  Ideally, my students will eventually have the opportunity to create their own piece of the blog and have their voices heard.  I am geared up to make the jump to 2.0 and can’t wait to see how it plays out to benefit my students!

Richardson mentioned in Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms that a Weblog is a tool that supports different learning styles.  He suggested students that are more introverted and wouldn’t normally participate in classroom discussions would be more likely to respond to a blog post.  I see blogs appealing to different learning styles way beyond this.  Images, video clips, and the actual organization of the blog will assist visual learners in comprehending the material.  Uploaded audio explanations and jingles would appeal to audio learners.  Depending on the willingness of the designer to experiment with different forms of media, nearly all the learning styles could be met.

Richardson got me thinking, “Am I actually missing one of the undeclared intelligence list toppers?  Is technology a new intelligence that is shared by most of our students?  If so, where am I having students interact with technology on a regular basis?”  Enter, my new blog.  Dun dun duunnn…

(On a side note, why is the wealth of information about “Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms” presented to us in the form of a paperback book?)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by dcrovitz on August 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    I like your future-historical perspective–it does help to expand the scope of what’s important. I try to temper my criticisms of how schools are run and what they emphasize, understanding that they are forced to serve often competing agendas. Still, the paradoxes of schooling are apparent, and given voice in sayings such as “students enter school as question marks, and leave as periods” and my own observations that too many kids end up leaving school convinced that they hate learning, hate writing, hate reading, and so on. The tech/web 2.0/interactive developments of the last 5-10 years seem like another serious challenge to how “school is done” and what is relevant.

    At the same time, it’s good to keep a skeptical eye on arguments that suggest that technology is the ultimate solution. I agree with you on Richardson’s points, certainly.

    Nice work with the embedded image. You’re already into the next agenda.

    dc

    Reply

  2. Posted by jpetrusa1 on August 23, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    I can completely relate. I also like how you classified technology as a new type of intelligence…maybe to be later added to Gardner’s multiple intelligences!

    Reply

  3. I often think the way you do- asking myself how this “age” will be remembered. Unfortunately, I think the Bump-it, Clogs, and skinny jeans (one style that does NOT fit all!) will make it into the history books. And… I do think that those of us who will probably remain woefully behind the technological forefront will be labeled a semi-literate minority.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

